About Us

Commission Agreements

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Commission has two separate ground leases, dated January 3, 1956, with the State of California for the Memorial Coliseum and Memorial Sports Arena properties.  On September 3, 2003, the Commission extended both leases to December 31, 2054. The rental terms for the 49-year extension were subject to a separate negotiation between the Commission and the State. The rental terms were stated in a subsequent amendment executed by the Commission and the State on February 13, 2008. Until December 31, 2054, the State, the County of Los Angeles and the City of Los Angeles each possess a one-third interest in the buildings and improvements. On January 1, 2055, full ownership of the two facilities reverts to the State.

The Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Commission and the University of Southern California (USC) implemented the Second Amendment to Lease and Agreement By and Between the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Commission and University of Southern California effective July 29, 2013, which transferred the responsibility for the long-term operation and maintenance of the Memorial Coliseum and Memorial Sports Arena to USC.

The Commission is a governmental entity created by a Joint Powers Agreement between the City of Los Angeles, the County of Los Angeles, and the California Science Center (State of California).

Coliseum Commissioners

City Appointees

Solomon Rivera (Vice President)

Current D. Price, Jr. Council member

County Appointees

Supervisor Janice Hahn             

Supervisor Holly J. Mitchell

Anita L. DeFrantz  (Alternate)

State Appointees

George L. Pla (President)      

Michael F. Fleming  

Ex-officio/Non-Voting Members

Assemblymember Reginald B. Jones-Sawyer, Sr.

State Senator Lola Smallwood-Cuevas

Under the current Joint Powers Agreement, the Memorial Coliseum Commission is comprised of six (6) voting members: two (2) members appointed by the Mayor of the City of Los Angeles; two (2) members appointed by the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors; and two (2) members appointed by the Governor of the State of California. The City Council President, Board of Supervisors and Governor may each appoint one (1) alternate.

Commission Staff

The Executive Office of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors provides administrative support to the Coliseum Commission to help manage the Commission's responsibilities.  

Meeting Address

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Commission

3911 South Figueroa Street

Los Angeles, CA 90037

Mailing Address

Al Naipo, Executive Director

500 West Temple Street, Room 383

Los Angeles, CA 90012

Email Address

You may also e-mail your questions or comments to: